Home   |   Contact Us   |     |  
Avenue of Stars Hong Kong - What's New

‘Godfather of Hong Kong Movie Posters’ Yuen Tai-yung launches ‘Glitter, Glitz and Glamour’ exhibition at Garden of Stars
(30 September until March 2018)


Bruce Lee, renowned martial arts expert
and icon of Hong Kong

Anita Mui, a piece that Mr Yuen considers as
one of his gems


(27 September 2017, Hong Kong) Avenue of Stars Management Limited today announced a partnership with famed movie poster artist, Mr Yuen Tai-yung, unveiling a series of 24 caricatures of famous movie stars and singers at the six-month long ‘Glitter, Glitz and Glamour’ exhibition at the Garden of Stars at Tsim Sha Tsui East Waterfront Podium Garden. The exhibition will showcase over 20 international and locally renowned actors and singers that are ‘caricaturised’ by Mr Yuen, such as Bruce Lee, Anita Mui, Leslie Cheung, Angelina Jolie and Steve McQueen. Caricatures of Jackie Chan, Andy Lau and Sean Lau were also created just for this exhibition. The new caricatures will take Mr Yuen’s specialised portfolio to over 200 iconic movie posters and caricatures, a feat that has led him to achieve the distinguished ‘Professional Achievement Award’ at the recent 36th Hong Kong Film Awards Presentation Ceremony for his great contribution to Hong Kong cinema.


Based on his personal preferences, encounters and impressions of these stars, Mr Yuen handpicked these specific film stars to create his signature caricatures. “Each of these creations are deeply meaningful and hold a special place in my heart,” Mr Yuen said. “It has been a true honour to caricaturise the great names of both Hong Kong and Hollywood cinema. I am particularly indebted to Sam and Michael Hui who gave me my first break in designing for the film industry, which led me to express my love of film and the stars of these films through my movie posters and caricatures. I am thrilled that my new caricatures will be on display for the people of Hong Kong to enjoy and reminisce about their favourite movie stars.”


Of noteworthy mention are the portraits of Bruce Lee, a figure synonymous with Hong Kong, who offered a lot of creative potential for Mr Yuen thanks to his ever-changing facial nuances and dramatic expressions, and also his iconic copper statue that Mr Yuen had a hand in the design, which is now currently situated at the Garden of Stars. As Bruce Lee is famed for using his hands in his martial arts poses, Mr Yuen deliberately exaggerated the hands on the caricature and statue to draw attention to them.


Mr Yuen relays his personal experience in the creation of these portraits on the descriptors of each art piece. Intrinsically tied to Hong Kong’s film culture, these intriguing works of art have made such an impact on the community that filmmaker Hui See-wai created a documentary titled, ‘The Posterist’ in 2016, that payed homage to Mr Yuen’s contributions in Hong Kong’s heritage and cultural scene. He also worked closely with Mr Yuen to bring this exhibition to life.


Mr Yuen’s caricatures exemplify a true art form, representing a deep-seated nostalgia for the golden era of Hong Kong cinema. The exhibition will be on display starting from Saturday, 30 September until March 2018 at the Garden of Stars, Salisbury Road in East Tsim Sha Tsui.


Leslie Cheung, whose grace and aura left
a strong impression on Mr Yuen

Sam Hui, who paved Mr Yuen’s way
to become a posterist

Angelina Jolie, someone who Mr Yuen
admires for her trendsetting, fearless
and loving attitude
Steven McQueen, well-known for his
car chases and death defying stunts

- END -

Contact Us
Tel : 3598-4608
Fax : 3112-4872
Website : http://www.avenueofstars.com.hk
If you have any opinion or enquiry, please feel free to contact us.
Please enter your name
Please enter your email
Please enter your phone number
Please enter your message

AOS Mangament Limited announced, affected by the weather service delays open in the afternoon

主頁   |   聯絡我們   |   ENG   |  

「香港電影海報教父」阮大勇「星光魅影」作品展在尖沙咀星光花園舉行
(9月30日起至2018年3月)

2017/09/27

阮大勇筆下的香港一代
功夫巨星李小龍

梅艷芳肖像畫是阮大勇
其中一件創作瑰寶

 

(香港,2017年9月27日) 星光大道管理有限公司今天宣布與享負盛名的電影海報大師阮大勇先生合作,在尖沙咀東海濱平台花園的星光花園展開為期約六個月的「星光魅影」作品展,展出阮先生創作的其中24幅本地及國際電影與樂壇巨星的肖像畫作,當中超過20幅更屬首度公開展出的作品,包括李小龍、梅艷芳、張國榮、安祖蓮娜祖莉及史提夫麥昆等。此外,亦有特別為今次作品展而新近繪製的多幅肖像畫,畫中巨星有成龍、劉德華及劉青雲。該批新作進一步增強了阮先生的作品陣容,令他筆下的電影海報及肖像畫總數超過200幅,數量驕人。這位大師級人物對香港電影業的卓越貢獻,更令他在今年舉行的「第36屆香港電影金像獎頒獎禮」上,獲頒發最高榮譽的「專業精神獎」。

 

阮先生根據個人喜好與及巨星們親身接觸所得的印象,親自挑選了部分巨星作為其經典肖像畫作的主角。他表示:「每件作品均極具意義,在我心目中佔據重要位置。我十分榮幸能夠為香港及荷李活巨星創作肖像畫,尤其要感激許冠文及許冠傑兩兄弟賞識,讓我得以投身電影界從事美術設計,創作出無數心愛電影海報及肖像畫,表達我對電影的熱愛及對影星們的欣賞。今次能夠在港展出這些從未公開的作品,讓廣大市民齊來欣賞,緬懷他們心愛的巨星,我實在感到非常興奮。」

 

在今次展出的眾多作品中,特別值得一提的是李小龍的肖像畫,而阮先生當年亦曾參與星光大道的李小龍銅像製作,該銅像目前擺放於星光花園。李小龍是香港不朽電影巨星,亦是香港的象徵之一,其面部表情及肢體動作變化多端,為阮先生帶來無限創作空間。由於李小龍是武術高手,雙手常常擺出不同的形態,動作招式靈活矯健,故當年阮先生在參與製作其銅像及創作今次肖像畫時,刻意誇張其雙手動作,吸引眾人目光 。

 

對光影娛樂的熱忱以及對每位巨星的認識與個人經驗,啟發了阮先生每幅創作,而他風趣幽默的藝術創作更與香港電影文化環環相扣,對社會有著重大影響,亦令電影製作人許思維於2016年將阮先生的生平事跡拍成紀錄片《海報師:阮大勇的插畫藝術》,表揚他對本地文化藝術的莫大貢獻。他亦與阮先生緊密合作,促成今次作品展順利舉行。

 

阮先生的肖像畫展現出一種真正的藝術形式,代表對香港電影黃金歲月的緬懷。該作品展的舉行日期由本周六(9月30日)起至2018年3月,地點為尖沙咀梳士巴利道的星光花園。

 

張國榮的獨特魅力與氣質,
仍然啟發著阮大勇的創作

許冠傑促使阮大勇
成為電影海報大師

阮大勇視為前衛勇敢、充滿愛心的
荷李活女星安祖蓮娜祖莉
擅長飛車及玩命特技的
荷李活已故巨星史提夫麥昆

- 完 -





聯絡我們
電話 : 3598-4608
傳真 : 3112-4872
網址 : http://www.avenueofstars.com.hk
如有任何查詢及意見,歡迎致電或電郵給我們。
請輸入姓名
請輸入電郵
請輸入電話
請輸入訊息
重置
傳送
IMPORTANT NEWS

AOS Mangament Limited announced, affected by the weather service delays open in the afternoon

重要新聞

星光大道管理有限公司宣布,受天氣影響,星光大道於上午延遲開放。

重要新闻

星光大道管理有限公司宣布,受天气影响,星光大道于上午延迟开放。